Midnight Rabbit : Frozen in Lament

Being weak is the worst, especially in a world where the Survival is of the Strongest.

As a kid I always felt pity for the rabbits. They are locked up in cages rather than living their life in  green grasslands.
But even at their right place, they are weak animals and often the prey for several carnivores.
In short, they live a miserable life full of either being imprisoned or running away.
Here’s a poem I wrote two years back which is about a rabbit telling its story.

image

Wandering through the shadow less night,
I, a rabbit majestic white,
But white doesn’t mean holy
White doesn’t mean glory
White means peace,
Peace, lonely?
White means sorrow,
Sorrow, only.

So I freeze as I speak,
Since I look timid, I’m called weak.

I had an active brother,
Wisdom though he lacked,
He lost to a tortoise,
His ambitions were cracked.
Overconfidence ruled him, it seems
Wonder what happened to his dreams?
Even if he was superficial,
At least he was ambitious.

Evenly our lives go on,
Unevenly our lives go out.

I had friend, who said to me,
“Reaching Destiny is a Miracle,
And knowing either is called a dream.”
But he didn’t knew life was subtle,
He didn’t knew the name of,
‘The Opposite of Miracle’
Nobody could tell when his world would end,
And his happy soul may end in purgatory.

Lost in the Jungle of happy,
Unevenly our lives go out … 

So I freeze as I speak,
Since I look modest, I’m called weak.

The night grew harsh,
The moon grew fonder,
As I remember their laugh,
My hate grew stronger,
As anger stirred within my heart,
I felt someone’s end start …
Wrath shall not be feared,
When wrath is not near.

Wrath shall be feared,
Because wrath was here …

At the last moment, the moon betrayed me,
I felt a violent breath, approaching,
The wrath that devoured my friend, came for me.
I began to haste, my death, approaching.
But Caught, Wrath smashed me to the ground.
Devoured me whole, not even left a wound.
Forgetting my own wrath, my mind made a mess,
And my spirit departured, not to heaven or hell but
To hopelessness …

Unlike Alice’s white rabbit friend,
I always remained a supporting fiend.

Floating through the shadow less night,
I, a spirit majestic white,
But white doesn’t mean holy
White doesn’t mean glory
White means peace,
Peace, lonely?
White means sorrow,
Sorrow, only.

So I freeze as I speak,
(Even if I’m not weak)
Since I look weak, I’m called weak.

One day maybe, a fateful day
I might be reborn, as a predator not as prey.

Being weak is worst. Sure. But complaining about it is even worse. Once you realise your own weaknesses and make them your assets, you’ll be the strongest person ever alive.

 

Thank you for reading ❤
-Avneesh Madan

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Avneesh
    This Is a masterpiece truly
    The lines
    Evenly our life goes in
    Unevenly our lives go out
    They had magic

    U really have worked to evolve the concept ….
    Well done
    I felt in the words of rabbit , they were some thoughts u wanted to share …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TheAvenues says:

      Haha
      Read between the lines, didn’t you? 😛

      You never know at what moment what may happen to you,
      That’s the mystery of life.
      I’m glad you liked it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That certainly is true
        But in the rush of the hour its our belief and will that takes us out of the sudden event , and reschedules the things to be sorted .
        Isn’t it ?

        Welcome to the blogging world !
        Pour a look at my works too …
        😛

        Liked by 1 person

      2. TheAvenues says:

        Yes, Absolutely!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

